Interview with Catrina Burgess, Author of Awakening


I liked to write my scary scenes between midnight and 3 am


I often have to research information on the internet or at the library for certain aspects of my book. But the ideas come from everywhere. I get ideas while watching the news, sitting in a crowded restaurant, driving around doing errands, etc…


I run a romance review site. has been up and running since 2002.


That’s a hard one. I know a good story when I read it. It’s a combo of terrific writing, characters I really can root for, and a setting that sucks me in. There is nothing better than finding a book that keeps you up until 3 am reading.

WHAT WAS YOUR INSPIRATION FOR WRITING AWAKENING?I was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue four years ago. For two years I was too sick to write. Those were two very dark years. When you have such bad fatigue and your world becomes so very small you can’t help but have dark thoughts. Every six months I would try to write. And when I was well enough to start writing again I poured all those dark thoughts, all that angst I had in my life into a story. I decided to write the story to keep me sane and to entertain my teenage nieces. And since I’m a huge fan of both stories full of ghost and magic I decided to put both in my book. Awakening is the first book in the four book YA series called the Dark Rituals.


Awakening (The Dark Rituals #1)
by Catrina Burgess
Release Date: October 7th 2015
Full Fathom Five Digital

Summary from Goodreads:

In Awakening, the first installment in the Dark Rituals series, a former healer turns to the Death Arts to seek revenge.

Seventeen-year-old Colina was born a healer. But after a horrific event forces her to leave her clan, she becomes desperate to learn the dark magic of the death dealers, mages who draw their power from the spirits of the dead. Colina was taught to fear and hate death dealers, but becoming one of them is the only way for her to get the revenge she seeks—and the only way for her to survive.

Colina asks a young death dealer named Luke to help her, but he’s reluctant to train her in the Death Arts. Little does she know convincing him to teach her will be the easiest part of her journey. To become a death dealer, Colina will need to undergo three dark rituals, each more terrifying than the last. At the same time, she’ll have to deal with her growing feelings for her mentor. Too bad the first ritual involves him strangling her to death.

As Colina undergoes the trials, she discovers an untapped darkness within herself. If she survives the horrific rituals and gains dark power, what will she become?

Catrina Burgess’ Dark Rituals series originally appeared on Wattpad with over three million reads. Awakening is the first book of four and was named Wattpad’s Best Suspense Story of 2014.

About the Author
I’ve been known to eat pizza and cold Chinese food for breakfast, and I’m the queen of the board game Stratego. I’ve never been beaten. NEVER!

You can find me online at: 

Wattpad // catrinaburgess 

Website //

Owner/Operator Romance Junkies // I write because it helps keeps the darkness away and reminds me that there is magic in the world. I live with one husband, two dogs, and a cat named Shitty Kitty in a small mining town in Arizona. At night this place is definitely spooky. I swear I’ve heard the wind giggle, and sometimes there’s a very odd breeze. Luckily, I love all things that go bump in the night. I adore old movies. I’m a huge Joss Whedon fan.

RJ Blog // // @RJBookReviews
Author Links:

 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s